SRF Marshall Medal Criteria


  • Nominations can be submitted for an individual who must be living at the time of their nomination. Self-nomination is acceptable.
  • Nominees should be a current member or previously have been a member of the SRF for a minimum of 10 years of their career.
  • We encourage applications from all to ensure inclusivity and diversity from all groups including those underrepresented.


  • The deadline for nomination is usually in April to enable sufficient time to judge the nominees prior to the May Council meeting.

This award recognises:

  • This award is for outstanding contributors to the study of Reproduction and Fertility with nominees considered on the total impact their career has had on these fields.

Judging of the Award:

  • The Award will be judged by a panel of SRF Council members (PEMC). Ratification of the successful nominee will take place at the May Council meeting. Only nominations submitted in that year will be considered.
  • Nominees will be considered for their total impact on the field, including sustained scientific achievements, along with leadership, mentorship, wider impact, contributions to the SRF community. Nominees are not expected to be outstanding in all these areas but will be considered on their total impact across these areas.
  • Nominations should include the following information:
    • A letter of nomination describing how the nominee meets the award criteria including evidence of sustained scientific achievements, and achievements in one or more of the areas of leadership, mentorship, application of scientific findings and contributions to the SRF community (no more than 2 pages)
    • CV of the nominee (no more than 3 pages)
    • Minimum of two letters of support by members of the scientific community including one current SRF member
    • One letter of support from a previous lab member/trainee