SRF Reproduction Prize


Dr YU-YING Chen, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS), USA


“Single-cell transcriptomics of staged oocytes and somatic cells reveal novel regulators of follicle activation”


The SRF-Reproduction prize was launched to celebrate and distinguish excellence in reproductive biology research. The prize recognises the best research published in SRF’s journal Reproduction.


  • All research papers published in the journal are automatically eligible.
  • For each annual award, papers will have been published between the July of the previous year and June of the award year. For example, the 2018 award is made for papers published between July 2017 and June 2018.


  • Members of the Reproduction Editorial Board will nominate papers for further consideration by the Assessment Panel. They are asked to nominate papers with high novelty, high impact, an excellent contribution to the field and high quality data.
  • The Assessment Panel will discuss all of the nominations and recommend on a winner based upon the above criteria. The Assessment Panel comprises four members of the Reproduction Editorial Board, selected to ensure gender equality and broad subject and geographical representation.
  • The Co-Editors-in-Chief will review and approve the recommendation made by the assessment panel.


  • The award will be made to the whole author group and each author will receive a certificate.
  • One author is invited to attend Fertility, with travel, registration and 3 nights’ accommodation covered by SRF. The author group identifies which author will attend, but the SRF encourages this to be the first author, with the aim of supporting those in early career stages.
  • The author will present their work in a dedicated award session in the Fertility programme.
  • If the authors are not current members of SRF they will be given 1 years’ membership.


  • The decision of the assessment panel and Co-Editors-in-Chief is final and not subject to appeal.
  • One award is available per year.




The SRF is delighted to announce that the winners of the 2021 prize are Shinnosuke Suzuki, John R McCarrey and Brian P Hermann for Differential RA responsiveness among subsets of mouse late progenitor spermatogonia.

Runner up

Satoko Kanzaki, Shiori Tamura, Toshiaki Ito, Mizuki Wakabayashi, Koji Saito, Shigeki Kato, Yasutaka Ohta, Yoichi Sekita, and Tohru Kimura for Involvement of Nlrp9a/b/c in mouse preimplantation development.

Roseanne Rosario, Hazel L Stewart, Emily Walshe, and Richard A Anderson for Reduced retinoic acid synthesis accelerates prophase I and follicle activation.



The SRF is delighted to announce that the winners of the 2020 prize are Zhenzhen Zhang , Changjiu He, Lu Zhang , Tianqi Zhu , Dongying Lv , Guangdong Li, Yukun Song, Jing Wang , Hao Wu, Pengyun Ji and Guoshi Liu for Alpha-ketoglutarate affects murine embryo development through metabolic and epigenetic modulations.

Runner up

Xiaotian Wang, Claudia Baumann, Rabindranath De La Fuente and Maria M Viveiros for CEP215 and AURKA regulate spindle pole focusing and aMTOC organization in mouse oocytes


Previous Recipients



The SRF is delighted to announce that the winners of the 2019 prize are Nevoral, Jan; Kolinko, Yaroslav; Moravec, Jiri; Zalmanova, Tereza; Hoskova, Kristyna; Prokesova, Sarka; Klein, Pavel; Ghaibour, Kamar; Hosek, Petr; Stiavnicka, Miriam; Rimnacova, Hedvika; Tonar, Zbynek; Petr, Jaroslav; Kralickova, Milena for Long-term exposure to very low doses of bisphenol S affects female reproduction

First runner up

Aitken, Robert; Xavier, Miguel; Mitchell, Lisa; McEwan, Kristen; Scott, Rodney for Genomic integrity in the male germ line: evidence in support of the disposable soma hypothesis

Second runner up

Behr, Ruediger; Wolff, Eva; Suplicki, Maria for Primordial germ cells do not migrate along nerve fibres in marmoset monkey and mouse embryos



Isolation of human testicular cells and co-culture with embryonic stem cells by Meenakshi Gaur, Cyril Ramathal, Renee A Reijo Pera, Paul J Turek and Constance M John.


Oviduct extracellular vesicles protein content and their role during oviduct–embryo cross-talk by Carmen Almiñana, Emilie Corbin, Guillaume Tsikis, Agostinho S Alcântara-Neto,Valérie Labas, Karine Reynaud, Laurent Galio, Rustem Uzbekov, Anastasiia S Garanina, Xavier Druart and Pascal Mermillod

Three-dimensional analysis of seminiferous tubules and spermatogenic waves in mice by Hiroki Nakata, Takahiro Sonomura and Shoichi Iseki

2017 Inaugural Prize


Spatiotemporal dynamics of OCT4 protein localization during preimplantation development in mice by Atsushi Fukuda, Atsushi Mitani, Toshiyuki Miyashita, Hisato Kobayashi, Akihiro Umezawa and Hidenori Akutsu.


Endometrial stem cells repair injured endometrium and induce angiogenesis via AKT and ERK pathways by Yanling Zhang, Xiaona Lin, Yongdong Dai, Xiaoxiao Hu, Haiyan Zhu, Yinshen Jiang and Songying Zhang.

Mfsd14a (Hiat1) gene disruption causes globozoospermia and infertility in male mice by Joanne Doran, Cara Walters, Victoria Kyle, Peter Wooding, Rebecca Hammett-Burke and William Henry Colledge.