SRF Postdoctoral Prize

The Postdoctoral Scientist Prize is aimed at postdoctoral scientists who are within five years of having obtained their PhD.

The 2017  Postdoctoral Scientist Prize was awarded to Avi Lerner (Imperial College London, UK) for his presentation:

“Investigation of the transcriptome in granulosa-lutein cells from PCOS patients implicates gene networks involved in cholesterol metabolism”








To be considered for the award, postdoctoral scientists must be the first and presenting author of an abstract submitted for the Fertility meetings.

Submitted abstracts are reviewed by an independent panel and a maximum of three abstracts are short listed for oral presentation during the Postdoctoral Scientist Prize Session at Fertility. The prize is awarded based on a combination of criteria which include content, presentation, delivery and discussion of the work. The winner of the prize will be invited to present their talk at the Society for Reproductive Biology Congress in Australia the following year.

To be considered for the Postdoctoral Scientist Prize, qualifying scientists must tick the relevant box when submitting their abstract for Fertility.

Previous winners:

2016 Agnes Stefansdottir University of Edinburgh
2015 Michelle Johnson The Open University
2014 Douglas Gibson University of Edinburgh
2013 Alison Wallace St George’s, London
2012 Dr Caroline Dalton University College London
2011 Dr Emma Lucas University of Southampton
2010 Dr Vicki Onions University of Nottingham
2009 Dr Andrew Childs MRC Human Reproductive Sciences Unit, Edinburgh
2008 Dr Jemma Evans MRC Human Reproductive Sciences Unit, Edinburgh