SRF Marshall Medal

The Marshall Medal is the Society's premier award. It was established in 1963 following the suggestion of Sir Alan Parkes, to commemorate the life and work of FHA Marshall. It is awarded to outstanding contributors to the study of fertility and reproduction.

SRF Marshall Medallist 2016 – Professor Michael Kane

M Kane Image

Michael Kane is Emeritus Professor of Physiology at the National University of Ireland (NUI) Galway.

He graduated with a BAgSc from University College, Dublin in 1964 and a PhD in Physiology from Cornell in in the USA in 1969. Most of his professional academic life has been spent at NUI Galway.

His research has involved the two related areas of preimplantation embryo development and ovarian follicular growth. Starting with his PhD with Bob Foote in Cornell he developed a culture medium (with albumin as the only undefined component) which allowed growth of 1-cell rabbit embryos to early blastocysts thus provided an alternative model to the mouse for studies on preimplantation development. Insights from this work were extended to cattle, mouse and hamster embryos.

Following the discovery of a novel LMW follicular fluid factor (GCIF) by a close collaborator, Joe Sreenan at Teagasc Galway, he worked on the role of this and other factors on follicular development in vivo and in vitro.

Michael has collaborated widely and has also been a visiting researcher in the laboratories of George Seidel in Colorado, Barry Bavister in Wisconsin-Madison and Robin Harrison in Babraham.

Michael was awarded the Conway Medal from the Royal Academy of Medicine in Ireland in 1990, a DSc from the National University of Ireland in 2005 and elected a member of the Royal Irish Academy in 2007.  He served as Professor and Head of the Department of Physiology, NUI Galway 1995-2006, acting Head of Anatomy 2001-2005 and preclinical Vice Dean 1998-2006. After retirement in 2006, he continued to lecture for five years and is still involved in research on follicular development.

To nominate a colleague for a future Marshall Medal, please use the Nominate for Award button on the right hand side of this page.

Previous recipients of this award are listed below:

2015 Claire Wathes

2014 Martin H Johnson

2013 TP Fleming

2012 S Milligan

2011 R Webb

2010 H Leese

2009 T Allen

2008 A McNeilly

2007 PJ Sharp

2006 APF Flint

2005 PF Watson

2004 JR Clarke

2003 HM Charlton

2002 RM Moor

2001 CA Finn

2000 RB Heap

1999 JM Bedford

1998 DG Whittingham

1997 DT Baird

1996 GE Lamming

1995 RV Short

1994 R Yanagimachi

1993 WK Whitten

1992 H Peters

1991 RG Edwards

1990 JD Biggers

1989 GD Thorburn

1988 EJC Polge

1987 GC Liggins

1986 RO Greep

1985 A McLaren

1984 C Lalor Burdick

1983 IW Rowlands

1982 A Nalbandov

1981 CR Austin

1980 C Thibault

1979 M Jackson

1978 Sir Dugald Baird

1977 SA Asdell

1976 T Mann

1975 C Gemzell

1973 H Bruce

1972 EC Amoroso

1971 MC Chang

1970 Sir Alan Parkes

1969 FWR Brambell

1967 HM Evans

1966 B Zondek

1964 CG Hartman